President’s Message

I hope everyone had a wonderful 2017, and a great holiday season.  Now that we are through the holidays, the San Diego County Optometric Society is off and running into 2018.  I would like to recognize Dr. Eric White, 2017 Optometrist of the Year, for being an inspiration and role model to our community in his continuous involvement and dedication to the field.  Your accomplishments are unmatched and you continue to dedicate your time to ensure the board’s continued success.  Additionally, thank you to our 2017 Young Optometrist of the Year, Dr. Amanda Dexter.  As though serving on the SDCOS executive board was not enough, you continue to lead at the state level to advance the profession and represent our best interests.   On behalf of our members, I would like to thank you both for being incredible representatives from this organization.  Lastly, but not least, I want to recognize Dr. Ketan Bakriwala for serving as our 2017 President to pave the way for my term this year.

Serving on the executive board the last couple of years has been a great learning experience for me, and it is my privilege to give back to the board and create an impact for 2018.  Fortunately, we have a tremendous group of doctors serving as board members and they will be helping lead the society through another great year.

As president, I’m committed to ensuring a comprehensive offering of Continuing Education courses, as well as numerous volunteer opportunities such as the Lions Optometric Vision Clinic, Monarch School Vision Screenings, and more.  I am also committed to increasing engagement with our vendors to help us all become better practitioners and business owners.  For 2018, I would like to challenge our members to get involved and to take full advantage of these opportunities.  I encourage every member to help non-member doctors see the benefits of membership so that we can continue to grow and be one of the best societies in the nation for years to come.

Over the past several years, our society has lead the way for the optometry community and together, we will continue that legacy.  It is my privilege to serve as your President and I look forward to a wonderful 2018.