November 5, 2020

Board Members: Drs. Gross, Grosu, Scovill, El-Moghrabi, Grazian, Dexter, Meisel, Song, Ordonez, Sherman, Boermans, Millet, Fasciani, Chinn, and Ciuffreda.

Call to order: 6:37 pm

Secretary:  Dr. Roula El-Moghrabi
Reviewed October 2020 Minutes. Motion by Dr. Sherman to accept October 2020 minutes as written, second by Dr. Grosu, motion passed.

Treasurer:  Dr. Simona Grosu
Reviewed October P&L. Motion by Dr. Grazian to accept October P&L the minutes as written, second by Dr. Sherman, motion passed.
Discussed 2021 Budget.

President-Elect: Dr. Alexandra Scovill
Cancel the vendor appreciation dinner.

Immediate Past President:  Dr. Robert Grazian.
No report

President:  Dr. Wendy Gross
-Reviewed CE Webinars
-2021 Officer vote: poll
-LOVC Liaison needed
-Restructuring our society for 2021:

  • Updated budget
  • Updated CE schedule (all virtual)
  • Sponsorship program

-Holiday Party Alternative:

  • Virtual cooking class
  • Go Fund Me
  • Fundraiser: toys, canned goods, school supplies for Monarch school

Vendor Liaison:  Dr. David N. Sherman
No report

Governmental Affairs:  Dr. Richard Skay (absent)
No report

Professional Affairs:  Dr. Amanda Dexter
2-hour CE on November 19

COA Health Care Delivery Systems (HCDS) Liaison:  Dr. Andrew Fasciani
No Report

LOVC Liaison:
LOVC reopened and looking for volunteers

Communications:  Dr. Nickolet Boermans & Dr. Lucia Millet
October 2020 newsletter: deadline for entries is the 15th of the prior month.

Webmaster:  Dr. Ilya (absent)
No report

Membership: Dr. David Ardakani (absent)
No Report

OD Relations:  Dr. John Fitzpatrick (absent)
No Report

Peer Review:  Dr. Paul Lavin (absent)
Peer review report

Public Awareness: Dr. Bob Meisel

1) Nothing regarding screening at the Monarch school with known schedule there

2) Stand Down 2020 will take place on 22 November at SD High School . No medical/vision care, but other services in a walk-through event. 0900- when supplies gone

3) UCSD AMA-Student Health Fair 18 April at Montgomery Waller Park National City 10:00-3:00 booth with brochures and questions answered


Dr. Jenn Chinn – Co-Membership chair/New Member Liaison
Dr. Kathryn Ordonez – Sunshine Coordinator
Dr. Marcelline Ciuffreda – Richard Rex Fund Liaison
Dr. Tiana Mathieson (absent) – Co-Public Awareness
Dr. Nina Song – School Liaison
Dr. Tatyana Budarina  (absent) Signs Liaison/Social media manager

Honorary Board Member: Dr. Byron Newman (absent)

Administrative Director: Nancy-Jo Sinkiewicz (absent)

The final list of SDCOS board members voted in for 2021:

  • President: Alexandra Scovill, OD, FAAO
  • President-Elect: Simona Grosu, OD
  • Treasurer: Nina Song, OD
  • Secretary: Roula El-Moghrabi, OD
  • Past President: Wendy Gross, OD
  • Membership: David Ardakani, OD
  • Vendor Liaison: David N. Sherman, OD
  • Professional Affairs: Amanda K Dexter, OD, FAAO
  • Governmental Affairs: Richard Skay, OD
  • Co-Communications Liaison: Lucia Millet, OD
  • Co-Communications Liaison: Nickolet Boermans, OD
  • Webmaster: Ilya Volk, OD
  • Public Awareness: Robert Meisel, OD, FAAO
  • OD Relations: John Fitzpatrick, OD
  • Peer Review: Paul Lavin, OD, FAAO
  • COA Health Care Delivery Systems Liaison: Andrew Fasciani, OD
  • LOVC Liaison: Erin Swift, OD
  • Trustee: Tatyana Budarina, OD
  • Trustee: Jenn Chinn, OD
  • Trustee: Marceline Ciuffreda, OD
  • Trustee: Tiana Mathieson, OD
  • Trustee: Kathryn Ordonez, OD
  • Honorary Trustee: Byron Y. Newman, OD
  • Administrative Director: Nancy-Jo Sinkiewicz

Meeting adjourned: 7:55 pm

Next Board Meeting: January 7th at 6:30 pm. location: Virtual meeting using Zoom.