May 7, 2020

Board Members: Drs. Gross, Grosu, Grazian, El-Moghrabi, Boermans, Sherman, Volk, Dexter, Ciuffreda, Lucia, Fasciani, Chin, Ardakani, Skay, Meisel, Ordonez, Song, Sherman, and Mathieson.

Call to order: 6:42pm

Secretary:  Dr. Roula El-Moghrabi

Reviewed March 2020 Minutes; motion to accept minutes as written by Dr. Grosu, second by Dr. Dexter, motion passed.

Treasurer:  Dr. Simona Grosu

  • Reviewed March and April P&L; motion to accept P&L by Dr. Skay, second by Dr. Sherman, motion passed.
  • Discussed looking for a different payroll company with lower fees.

President-Elect: Dr. Alexandra Scovill (absent)

Discussed alternatives to vendor dinner; will tentatively give each vendor one ticket to the Holiday Party

Immediate Past President:  Dr. Robert Grazian

No Report

President:  Dr. Wendy Gross

  • Motion by Dr. Gross to sponsor the SCCO student bowl in the amount of $200 (Gold Sponsorship), second by Dr. Fasciani, motion passed by email vote on 04/10/2020.
  • Discussed changes due to COVID-19: Refer to website for updates
  • Discussed Holiday Party:
    • Location: Hotel Republic, Downtown San Diego
    • Date: December 5, 2020
    • Theme: Roaring 20s
  • Discussed new OD event and fundraiser ideas
    • Interested Sponsors: VSP and Alcon
    • Bocci ball tournament at Stone Brewery in Liberty Station in June – CANCELLED
    • Virtual alternatives: maybe Raffle?
    • Planning committee: Drs. Gross, Millet, Fasciani, and Meisel
  • Discussed CE Schedule changes
  • Discussed Budget changes

Vendor Liaison:  Dr. David N. Sherman

  • Discussed sponsor update
  • Discussed contacting sponsors: ABB optical, B&L, Novartis and VSP to release funds.

Governmental Affairs:  Dr. Richard Skay

  • Discussed Continued Education Changes:
    • If license expires between March 31st -June 30th, the CE requirements are waived until October 1st.
    • Interactive online CE counts as live CE
  • Advocating Telehealth expansion
  • COA Legislative Day – CANCELLED due to COVID-19 (Previously scheduled for April 22)

Professional Affairs:  Dr. Amanda Dexter

  • Discussed updated 2020 CE Calendar through Zoom Webinars.
    • Upcoming CE: May 28th with Dr. Vin Dang
    • June 25th: Dr. Pinakin Davey (Glaucoma)
    • July 16th: Dr. Srinivas Iyengar (Oculoplastics)

COA Health Care Delivery Systems (HCDS) Liaison:  Dr. Andrew Fasciani

No Report

LOVC Liaison:  Dr. Michael Morgan (absent)

LOVC currently closed due to COVID-19

Communications:  Dr. Nickolet Boermans & Dr. Lucia Millet

May 2020 newsletter: deadline for entries is the 15th of the prior month.

Webmaster:  Dr. Ilya Volk

No Report

Membership: Dr. David Ardakani

  • Discussed virtual events: MDs and ODs mingle on Zoom.
    • Possible Fundraiser event
    • Discussed sponsorship (interest from VSP and Alcon)
  • Discussed ideas to promote new membership:
    • Reach out by phone or email to non-members to encourage them to sign up
  • Discussed COA’s membership campaign, “COA 2020 are you in”
    • Resources on COA website
    • New member contest: The society that gets the highest percentage of non-members to join, will get a reward.

OD Relations:  Dr. John Fitzpatrick (absent)

No Report

Peer Review:  Dr. Paul Lavin (absent)

No Report

Public Awareness:  Dr. Bob Meisel

  • UCSD Health Fair – CANCELLED (Previously scheduled for April 11)
  • Banner committee: Drs. Ilya, Aardakani, and Skay
  • Monarch exams – RESCHEDULED to October 13-14 (tentatively, based on VSP Mobile Clinic availability)
  • Need to set a screening date in September based on Monarch schedules
  • Fall semester Monarch School screening – TBD
  • Veterans Stand Down – POSTPONED
    •  Reschedule date TBD


Dr. Jenn Chinn                                       Co-Membership chair/New Member Liaison

Dr. Kathryn Ordonez                               Sunshine Coordinator

Dr. Marcelline Ciuffreda                         Richard Rex Fund Liaison

Dr. Tiana Mathieson                                Co-Public Awareness

Dr. Nina Song                                        School Liaison

Dr. Tatyana Budarina (absent)               Signs Liaison

Honorary Board Member: Dr. Byron Newman (absent)

Administrative Director: Nancy-Jo Sinkiewicz

Meeting adjourned: 7:47pm

Next Board Meeting: June 4, 2020, location: Virtual meeting using Zoom