January 9, 2020 @ FruitCraft

January 9, 2020 @ FruitCraft

Board Members: Drs. Gross, Scovill, Grosu, El-Moghrabi, Grazian, Ardakani, Dexter, Skay, Millet, Boermans, Meisel, Fasciani, Morgan, Chinn, Mathieson, Song, and Ordonez.


Call to order: 7:20 pm


Secretary:  Dr. Roula El-Moghrabi (assisted by 2019 Secretary, Dr. Alexandra Scovill)

Reviewed November 2019 Minutes, motion to accept minutes as written by Drs. Skay and Meisel, motion passed.


Treasurer:  Dr. Simona Grosu (assisted by 2019 Treasurer, Dr. Wendy Gross)

Reviewed Year End P&L

Reviewed 2020 Budget – Discussed Honorarium budget.

Motion to increase the budget for equipment expenses to $800 by Drs. Meisel and Skaly, motion passed.

Motion to increase the Honorarium fee to $8,325 by Drs Gross and Dexter, motion passed.

2019 Donations to: Braille Institute ($500), PROPAC ($250), Golf Tournament Proceeds: TBD.


President-Elect: Dr. Alexandra Scovill

Discussed ideas for alternative to vendor dinner


Immediate Past President:  Dr. Robert Grazian

Recapped 2019 year and reviewed Holiday Party


President:  Dr. Wendy Gross

  • Welcome and thank you speech
  • Reviewed 2019 Calendar of Events.
  • Introduced new Board members.
  • Introduced and confirmed committee chairpersons
  • Assigned Trustees Positions:
    • Signs Liaison: Tatyana Budarina, OD
    • School Liaison: Nina Song, OD
    • Co-Public Awareness: Tiana Mathieson, OD
    • Sunshine Coordinator – Kathryn Ordonez, OD
    • Richard Rex Fund Liaison: Marceline Ciuffreda, OD
    • Co-Membership chair/New Member Liaison – Dr. Jenn Chinn
  • Discussed extra materials to be given to Nancy-Jo to be stored in the storage locker.
  • Discussed goals for Board meetings and CE meetings
  • Discussed Annual Holiday Party Considerations:
    • Proposed date: December 5, 2020
    • Holiday Party Committee:
      • Gross, Meisel, Dexter, Boermans, Odonez, Cuiffreda, and Ms. Nancy-Jo.
    • Discussed COA House of Delegates, February 21-22, 2020, Los Angeles
    • Discussed COA Legislative Day, April 22nd, Sacramento
    • Motion to donate $100 (5x$20 gift card) to raffle “Get Lit” by COA on January 24th from 7:30-9:00pm by Drs. Grazian and Grosu, motion passed.


Vendor Liaison:  Dr. David N. Sherman (absent)

  • Voted on 2020 Sponsors:
    • Motion to accept B&L as sustaining sponsors by Drs Skay and Meisel, motion passed.
    • Motion to accept Walls Fargo Finance and ABB optical as sustaining sponsors by Drs Grazian and Skay, motion passed.
    • Motion to accept New Sight Medical/Eyecare USA as sustaining sponsors, motion passed.
    • Motion to accept California Retina Associates as a platinum sponsor and holiday party sponsors by Drs. Skay and Ardakani, motion passed.


Governmental Affairs:  Dr. Richard Skay

Motion to donate $100 to Dr. Paul Tornambe Research Fund by Drs. Skay and Ardakani, motion passed.


Professional Affairs:  Dr. Amanda Dexter

Reviewed 2020 CE calendar.

January 2-HR CE- Refractive Surgery Symposium (Thurs Jan 16th).


COA Health Care Delivery Systems (HCDS) Liaison:  Dr. Andrew Fasciani

No Report


LOVC Liaison:  Dr. Michael Morgan

Discussed if evening volunteer needed by LOVC.


Co-Communications Liaisons:  Dr. Nickolet Boermans & Dr. Lucia Millet

January newsletter: deadline for entries is 15th of the prior month.


Webmaster:  Dr. Ilya Volk (absent)

Discussed communication platform using Moosend Platform


OD Relations:  Dr. John Fitzpatrick (absent)

No report


Peer Review:  Dr. Paul Lavin (absent)

No report


Public Awareness:  Dr. Bob Meisel

  • Monarch screening
    • Monday 24 February
  • Monarch examswith VSP Mobile Clinic
    • Tuesday – Wednesday 10-11 March
    • Jenn Chinn volunteering all day 10th
    • Discussed the need of 1-2 ODs for 11th
  • UCSD Health Fair:
    • Saturday 11 April 10 am – 3 pm
  • Golf tournament:
    • Discussed other alternatives
  • Veterans Stand Down2020
    • No dates yet but probably late June.
    • Possible Sponsorship by SDCOS.
  • SD Science Fair
    • Wednesday, March 11, Balboa Park.


Membership: Dr. David Ardakani

Discussed Dr. Ron Seger’s visit.

Reviewed membership numbers: increased by 10%.



Dr. Jenn Chinn, O.D.

Dr. Marcelline Ciuffreda, O.D.

Dr. Tatyana Budarina, O.D.

Dr. Kathryn Ordonez, O.D.

Dr. Tiana Mathieson, O.D.

Dr. Nina Song, O.D.


Honorary Board Member:  Dr. Byron Newman (absent).

No Report.


Administrative Director: Nancy-Jo Sinkiewicz.

Meeting adjourned: 8:31pm.


Next Board Meeting: February 6, 2020 at NVISION La Jolla.